Perfection {au contraire mon frere}

Tonight, as I sit outside in the fall night with ants crawling across my lighted screen and the crickets singing “Angie” by the Rolling Stones, I am thinking back on the graces of my day.

This morning, I had the opportunity to spend one magnificent hour filled with ideas and insights with my associate and dear friend, Stephanie. She has always helped me to challenge the notion of perfection. This horrible and crippling belief that we need to have every cottin-picken thing all sorted out.

Well, news flash to self – I am not (perfect, that is) and I don’t (have it all figured out). But don’t tell anyone, ok?

After our conversation today, I thought more about the notion of letting things happen in their natural order versus forcing what you think to be a solution so as to convince yourself that you have it all solved. In my pondering, I came upon a quote by one of my favorite authors and thought I might share it out before that damn ant comes back on my screen.

Goes something like this…

“I discovered that my obsession for having each thing in the right place, each subject at the right time, each word in the right style, was not the well-deserved reward of an ordered mind but just the opposite: a complete system of pretense invented by me to hide the disorder of my nature. I discovered that I am not disciplined out of virtue but as a reaction to my negligence, that I appear generous in order to conceal my meanness, that I pass myself off as prudent because I am evil-minded, that I am conciliatory in order not to succumb to my repressed rage, that I am punctual only to hide how little I care about other people’s time. I learned, in short, that love is not a condition of the spirit but a sign of the zodiac.”

― Gabriel García MárquezMemories of My Melancholy Whores

Well said, Gabriel. Well said.

G’night world.

3 Comments on “Perfection {au contraire mon frere}”

  1. Michael says:

    Hmmmm…I like what you said but not sure I understand what Gabe is saying. I get it but don’t at the same time if you know what I mean. Anyway, this is an interesting thought that I’d like to talk with you about some time from a theological pov. Perfektion and stuff.

  2. What I takeaway from the Marquez quote is that we, as humans, convince ourselves of truths from the what we WANT to be rather for who we really may be. And that without questioning our own motives, we fail to reach a greater level of self-awareness. I can relate to all aspects of the passage, with the exception of the last statement, “I learned, in short, that love is not a condition of the spirit but a sign of the zodiac.” My drippy romantic side rejects this idea. Love is a condition of the spirit. I must believe this.

  3. […] dents of time, they leave me feeling empty. This might also be why when I meet people that don a perfect façade, I immediately lose interest. For such places have no bottles in their cooler and such people are […]


Leave a Reply

